Sparky Linux 8 Codename Revealed

Based on Debian 13 "Trixie," the upcoming Sparky Linux 8 has been given a thrilling codename: "The Seven Sisters."

Sparky is a lightweight, Debian-based Linux distribution that provides a user-friendly and customizable computing experience. It aims to be fast, stable, and easy to use, making it suitable for both older hardware and new systems.

Still supporting old x86 (32bit) machines, Sparky 7.0 “Orion Belt” came out a few days ago, based on the stable Debian 12 “Bookworm,” bringing many new features and updates, the most noteworthy of which are:

  • Linux kernel 6.1 LTS
  • Firefox 102.12.0ESR & Thunderbird 102.12
  • LibreOffice 7.4.5
  • LXQt 1.2, KDE Plasma 5.27, Xfce 4.18, MATE 1.26, and Openbox 3.6.1
Sparky 7.0 "Orion Belt" with LXQt Desktop
Sparky 7.0 “Orion Belt” with LXQt Desktop

Just a few days later, in keeping with the tradition of naming their releases thematically after things related to constellations, the upcoming Sparky Linux 8, now testing/semi-rolling, has been given a mysterious codename: “The Seven Sisters.”

So, let’s get a little astronomy. The current stable Sparky 7 release codename, “Orion Belt,” is an asterism (term for a group of stars) in the constellation Orion.

Totally in the same spirit, the “Seven Sisters” (Electra, Taygete, Maia, Celaeno, Alcyone, Sterope, and Merope) is an asterism and an open star cluster in the constellation Taurus.

But, of course, there are more important things in the upcoming Sparky 8. Building upon the solid foundation of the next stable Debian 13 “Trixie” (currently in testing), this release promises an exciting evolution in performance, features, and user experience.

In this light, the new Sparky 8 repos are already set. So, hopefully, just like the seven sisters of Greek mythology, Sparky Linux 8 will be able to captivate users with its individuality. If you can’t wait to give it a shot, there’s an easy way to do it.

Sparky 8 "The Seven Sisters"
Sparky 8 “The Seven Sisters”

To switch from the current stable Sparky 7 to rolling Sparky 8 based on the testing Debian 13 branch, change Debian repos from “bookworm” to “trixie” in the “/etc/apt/sources.list” file. Next, change Sparky repos from “orion” to “sisters” in “/etc/apt/sources.list.d/sparky.list.”

Finally, execute the spu command (short of Sparky Upgrade), wait for the operations to complete, and reboot the system. You can also find detailed information on how to do it in the official Sparky upgrade documentation.

Bobby Borisov

Bobby Borisov

Bobby, an editor-in-chief at Linuxiac, is a Linux professional with over 20 years of experience. With a strong focus on Linux and open-source software, he has worked as a Senior Linux System Administrator, Software Developer, and DevOps Engineer for small and large multinational companies.

Think You're an Ubuntu Expert? Let's Find Out!

Put your knowledge to the test in our lightning-fast Ubuntu quiz!
Ten questions to challenge yourself to see if you're a Linux legend or just a penguin in the making.

1 / 10

Ubuntu is an ancient African word that means:

2 / 10

Who is the Ubuntu's founder?

3 / 10

What year was the first official Ubuntu release?

4 / 10

What does the Ubuntu logo symbolize?

5 / 10

What package format does Ubuntu use for installing software?

6 / 10

When are Ubuntu's LTS versions released?

7 / 10

What is Unity?

8 / 10

What are Ubuntu versions named after?

9 / 10

What's Ubuntu Core?

10 / 10

Which Ubuntu version is Snap introduced?

The average score is 68%